Product : Microsoft, S2D [SDS]/2019, Datacenter
Feature : Node Failure Protection, Reads/Writes, Data Availability
Content Owner:  Herman Rutten
1-2 Replicas (2N-3N)
Erasure Coding
Nested Resiliency (4N; RAID5+1) (primary; 2-node only)
Windows Server 2016 introduced a new feature called "Fault Domain Awareness". With Fault Domain Awareness the physical placement of devices on the node-, chassis- and rack level, can be properly defined. In the configuration a node can be assigned to a chassis and the chassis can be assigned to a rack. When Fault Domain Awareness is configured, S2D will spread the data intelligently across individual Fault Domains.

Effectively, when a node fails the data is already located on one or two other cluster nodes depending on the chosen protection level.