Product : Nutanix, ECP [HCI]/5.11, Ultimate
Feature : Block Failure Protection, Reads/Writes, Data Availability
Content Owner:  Herman Rutten
Block Awareness (integrated)
Nutanix intelligent software features include Block Awareness. A "block" represents a physical appliance. Nutanix refers to a “block” as the chassis which contains either one, two, or four "nodes". The reason for distributing roles and data across blocks is to ensure if a block fails or needs maintenance the system can continue to run without interruption.

Nutanix Block Awareness can be broken into a few key focus areas:
- Data (The VM data)
- Metadata (Cassandra)
- Configuration Data (Zookeeper)

Block Awareness is automatic (always-on) and requires a minimum of 3 blocks to be activated, otherwise node awareness will be defaulted to. The 3-block requirement is there to ensure quorum.

AOS 5.8 introduces support for erasure coding in a cluster where block awareness is enabled. In previous versions of AOS block awareness was lost when implementing erasure coding. Minimums for erasure coding support are 4 blocks in an RF2 cluster and 6 blocks in an RF3 cluster. Clusters with erasure coding that have less blocks than specified will not regain block awareness after upgrading to AOS 5.8.
Login to access your personal profile

Forgot your Password?
Signup with linkedin

Registered, but not activated? click here (resend activation link)

Login to access your personal profile

Receive new comparison alerts

Show me as community member

I agree to your Terms of services